Search Community

Update Bezier Points Dynamically

kahnos test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello,

I'm new to SVG animations and i'm very impressed with GSAP, it's fantastic.

Currently, i'm trying to get an SVG to follow the mouse pointer with the Bezier Plugin, in order to make it autorotate and add some reality to it's movement (it's going to be a humanoid shape flying and following the pointer). So far, i've managed to keep track of the mouse pointer every second, but have been unable to update the established Bezier path.

Should i create a new path every iteration or is there a way to add more points on update to the Bezier path?

Thank you.

See the Pen rJweJY by kahnos (@kahnos) on CodePen

Are you wanting it to have a linear speed and the mouse just plots the points? So if you wiggle your mouse around really fast and crazy around the screen, it might take 10 seconds to arrive at where your mouse ended? Or do you want it to just kinda lag behind the mouse slightly? Help us understand exactly the type of animated effect you're going for. Do you need to be able to reverse() it at some point? Any particular reason you don't want to use tick-based physics? @OSUblake is probably right about that type of motion, but maybe we're misunderstanding your goal here. 

• Like 2

I believe you're correct actually, tick based physics in a canvas would work better. I'm going for the "just kinda lag behind the mouse slightly" with rotation so it looks like it's following it. No need to reverse it.

http://lamberta.github.io/html5-animation/examples/ch05/04-follow-mouse-1.html

That example comes close, although it goes crazy when it reaches the mouse.