Search Community

Vertical Panelling Pinned Until Content

Heimes57 test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm very new to GSAP and ScrollMagic and very eager to learn as much as possible on my own. But I'm struggling to grasp all the options and abilities while rushing to meet a project deadline! I appreciate the help!

What I'm trying to do is have four opening elements panel (or stack) until the last has been shown for the same duration as the others. Then as it's unpinned, the page content pushes it up and scrolls normally. 

I need a duration of at least 200% because I plan on having timelines in each panel animate elements during that duration. 

What I have now doesn't pin the last of the four elements and because of the absolute positioning, there is a 300% gap between the 4th element and the content.

There may be a much better way than I'm trying here. In fact, I'm positive there has to be a better way. 

See the Pen goNjwq by CairnDM (@CairnDM) on CodePen

Since all your elements appear to set using vh and should scale responsively I think you should be able to apply an appropriate negative top margin in vh to the content to place it just below the last panel.

I'm not too familiar with scrollMajic so perhaps someone else can suggest a better layout option.

It's pretty hackish way to do it but this floats content above absolutely then detects document scroll position when last item passes bottom of screen and sets content below it.

Kind of horrible the way scrollMajic handled this sort of thing wrapping everything in that container.