Search Community

Can't use GSAP in a function? (Animate CC)

thefyrewire test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello, first-time poster here!

I'm an HTML5/Animate CC newbie (and not really a dev in general, just doing this for fun and learning) and I was wondering if someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong here. I would like to be able to use GSAP to animate a vector file I'd add to the stage and would need to be able to make it animate when I call a function, however when I try to do this I keep getting cannot tween a null object, but if it's not wrapped in a function the animation plays fine.

I created a new HTML5 canvas to see if I had the same problem, and I did:

1. Added a symbol to a blank HTML5 canvas, made it a MovieClip and drew a circle. I called the instance mcThing
 2. In the Timeline, I selected the first frame and went into Actions
 3. I wrote:

function playAnimation() {
    TweenMax.to(this.mcThing, 3, {y:500});
    }
playAnimation();

4. When testing in Chrome, I get cannot tween a null object. If I reference it as mcThing (omitting the this. I instead get mcThing is not defined.
 5. If I then remove the function and just have this:

TweenMax.to(this.mcThing, 3, {y:500});

It plays fine, but now I can't call it when I need to.

Some context: