Search Community

Blake Bowen's Node Editor - Is There a Tutorial on this Noodle/Node Technique?

Sackadoo test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I came across

See the Pen 4c3752574267b3a986cb8eee7ccb8c81 by osublake (@osublake) on CodePen

on CodePen last week and I've been digging around to better understand it ever since. Not getting very far very fast.

I'm new to GSAP and SVG (which may be 90% of the problem) and what I'm trying to figure out is what's going on behind the drawable connections. If not a tutorial, just a quick pseudo-code summary of how this is implemented might be enough.

On 11/13/2017 at 12:35 PM, Sackadoo said:

I came across

See the Pen 4c3752574267b3a986cb8eee7ccb8c81 by osublake (@osublake) on CodePen

on CodePen last week and I've been digging around to better understand it ever since. Not getting very far very fast.

I'm new to GSAP and SVG (which may be 90% of the problem) and what I'm trying to figure out is what's going on behind the drawable connections. If not a tutorial, just a quick pseudo-code summary of how this is implemented might be enough.

How did you find that demo as it's set to private? Not that I care, just curious if it was posted somewhere else. 

As I stated in the beginning of that thread, it requires some advanced JS skills, and will be hard to break down into some pseudo code. Is there anything specific you want to know about it?

• Like 2

Thanks for replying, Blake.

If memory serves, I followed a link in a forum thread, maybe even here on this forum. The guy you did the demo for, I remember him being impatient. Hope that helps narrow things down.

I'd like to know which part(s) of your code deal with these three areas:

• drawing the bezier curves,