Search Community

ScrollMagic - TweenMax vs Timeline

Guest kkokoruz
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Guest kkokoruz

I'm new to both Greensock and ScrollMagic and I'm running up against a wall.  I'm trying to understand how to tween/animate some aspects of my site ie., transitions between frames but still maintain some of the control by having items react when the user scrolls.  Right now my project only reacts the scroll movement but I'd like to be able to trigger section to tween/animate as it gives a nicer/non choppy display.

Any and all feedback/help would be greatly welcomed so that I can resolve this dilemma. 

Thank You

See the Pen VzjzbX by kokoruz (@kokoruz) on CodePen

HI @kkokoruz :)

Welcome to the GS forum.

If I understand your question correctly, you want some of the tweens to play based on user scroll speed, but others should play like a regular animation? If that's the case, I'd recommend breaking your animations up into multiple scenes. As you have it now, the entire animation is one timeline with a duration of 600%. When you set the duration in ScrollMagic like that, the duration of the tweens is ignored. ScrollMagic hijacks that value.

I'd take those tweens/timelines that you'd like to play normally and create a separate scene and trigger for them. Leave the duration out of the ScrollMagic scene parameters so they'll play at the actual duration of the tween when they hit the trigger. 

Hopefully that's what you meant. Happy tweening and welcome aboard.

:)

• Like 3

Guest kkokoruz