Search Community

looping "speed lines"

kvnmcwebn test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hi, I'm playing around with surface movement on a river and would like the waves  to continuously loop. 

My plan was to make each wave 3x the width of the viewport and then reset its x location to get a loop effect but then I realized that I don't know how to crop a graphic to the viewport.

I'm pretty new to this and was wondering if someone could give me any advice or point me to a tutorial or suggest a better method? 

Thanks in advance
-Kevin

See the Pen NgXXww by kvnmcwebn (@kvnmcwebn) on CodePen

Hi @kvnmcwebn :)

Have you seen these pens by @chrisgannon ?

See the Pen vNJKJM by chrisgannon (@chrisgannon) on CodePen

See the Pen NqyWOw by chrisgannon (@chrisgannon) on CodePen

He's creating those speed lines in a loop with the drawSVG plugin. That plugin is a Club GreenSock bonus, but you can experiment with it on CodePen. Here's some more info about the Club.

https://greensock.com/club

Hopefully that helps a bit. Happy tweening.

:)

• Like 7

What would the correct syntax be to add a repeat on the tweens that are using the insert function?:

var tl = new TimelineLite();

tl.to("#wave_x5F_1_x5F2_", 14, {x:1600})
tl.insert( TweenLite.to("#wave5_2_", 12, {x:1500}), 0);

tl.insert( TweenMax.to ("#wave_x5F_2_x5F_left_2_",  3, {
  attr: { x: 500},  
  ease: Power4.easeInOut,
  repeat: -1,
  repeatDelay: 0;)

});

tl.insert( TweenLite.to("#wave5_2_", 12, {x:1500}), 0);

Thanks

-Kevin

Best advice: don't use insert() or append() those are relics from the Flash days. The API has been streamlined greatly to provide the best control in a very concise way. 

You're code could be simplified to