Search Community

Animate children div using jQuery + TimelineMax (GSAP)

olivetum test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm quite new to the jQuery and GSAP and really need Your help ;) .  

I'm having a problem in animating children div while parent element is hover using TweenMax/TimelineMax. I can animate css of children with jQuery like this: 

$('.div1').mouseenter(function () {
            $('.div2').css('font-size', '20px');
          });

but since I want to build a really complex animation I would like to use TimelineMax to my code in place of "css('font-size', '20px');" but nothing seems to work. I've build a simple test.html to find a solution:

<body>
    <div id="logo">
      <p id="text">TEXT TO BE ANIMATED</p>
    </div>
</body>

and I've tried to animate my #text element with this code (obtaining only parent animation):

$(document).ready(function () {
  var hoverEffect = $("#logo");

hoverEffect.hover(function() {
  TweenMax.to(this, .35, {borderLeft: "15px solid #00b89d"})
  }, function() {
  TweenMax.to(this, .5, {borderLeft: "0px solid #00b89d"})
  });
});

I've also tried jQuery .find() and .children() methods but failed... Thanks in advance for Your help ;)

See the Pen qjBBVV by olivetum (@olivetum) on CodePen

Hi @olivetum :)

Welcome to the forum.

I'm not quite sure what you're asking or what should be happening in your animation, but if you want to target the #text div inside the #logo div, you can use find() like this:

TweenMax.to($(this).find("#text"), 1, {. . .} );

Hopefully that helps.

Happy tweening.

:)

• Like 3