Search Community

move a div drawing a stroke path alongside

gregorio500 test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hi,

I am quite new in GSAP and I currently struggle at how to move the div drawing a stroke path alongside. I’ve tried a tons different method (include snap) but I didn't achieve my goal.

In the first example I’ve tried to copy x and y parameters which are use by the timeline “t1" in order to include them to timeline with “.divBox” (the div should move along the path). Unfortunately my method dosen’t work and I don’t know how to get x and y parameters from “t1” and use it as a value for ".divBox".

1. See the Pen gmEbNv by gtruskowski (@gtruskowski) on CodePen

My second method is quite simple but the div isn’t responsive, even if I coordinate x and y (especially when I change the window size).

I know that the MorphSVG plugin can offer a better solution for this problem but I can’t use any commercial plugins in this project.

Many thanks for any help!

See the Pen oZVNWJ by gtruskowski (@gtruskowski) on CodePen

I'd certainly use the approach ryanf is using in his demo.

You said "I can’t use any commercial plugins in this project." Did you mean because you're not a Club GreenSock member or you actually are not allowed to use them on the project? If it's the former, I'd recommend joining the Club so you can use the MorphSVG plugin. You'll save lots of time and membership pays for itself quickly. If it's the latter, that does put you in a tough spot. 

I'd suggest taking a look at the Bezier plugin:

https://greensock.com/docs/#/HTML5/GSAP/Plugins/BezierPlugin/

Hopefully that helps a bit.

Happy tweening.

:)

• Like 3