Search Community

Physics collision vs applyBounds() for draggable?

ajhalls test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by OSUblake,

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I am a little stuck on this today, I made this yesterday and my initial thought was to use some sort of physics collision sensing to keep you from being able to overlap the handles, but then I noticed the "bounds" and being able to set "maxX" and "minX", but it is listed as a read only property. I thought I could get around it with the .applyBounds where each time you release a handle, it updates the "maxX" and "minX" of the handles on either side, but I am missing something. It seems to not set the bounds, but clear any previous setting.

this is my first time using Greensock's draggable as opposed to jQuery, I could try going back, but I like the idea of learning more about what I can do here. So first question, did I make the right choice in trying to set and reset these bounds each time I let go, or would it have been much simpler to just say handles collide and can't jump over each other?

See the Pen egxpjv?editors=1111 by ajhalls (@ajhalls) on CodePen

This seems to be working better using the .hitTest() function rather than bounds, if they collide, I endDrag(). One of the issues I am having though is that they work great if you are dragging slowly, but if you drag faster, they end up overlapping slightly which then makes it pretty hard to drag again as you have to keep inching it away. Any tips to adding a buffer of some kind there?

See the Pen EZrmgB?editors=1111 by ajhalls (@ajhalls) on CodePen