Search Community

ScrollTo Plugin and resize event

nfasarakis test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello everybody! Happy to join the community, I really love the work you've done here. Apologies for any errors before I begin, English is not my first language and spell-checkers can only help so much.

I'm new to JS animations (and new to JS in general) and I seem to be experiencing some issues when using the ScrollTo plugin after a resize event. I've added a Codepen with a simplified example of what I'm trying to achieve. Here's what is working so far:

I have a div container that takes up the viewpoint width and height. In that container, I've placed three divs (lets call them slides), each one also taking 100% of the viewpoint width and height. Only the first is visible due to the container's overflow: hidden property.

By pressing the up and down arrow key, I want to move between slides during a period of two seconds. So I set up a timeline instance that contains three tweens, each tween using the scrollTo plugin to scroll between slides. On keydown events, I use the TweenTo() method to either advance the slides forwards or backwards. So far so good, this works just fine.

However, things start to get buggy if I attempt to resize the window. After I resize the window, any scrolling done either goes beyond a slide or stops before the slide ends, depending on if I make the window smaller or bigger. I'm assuming that after the window resizes, the values used during the setup of the timeline instance, specifically via the ScrollTo plugin, do not correspond to the actual pixels we need to scroll to on the resized window.