Search Community

random circles dropping from the top

schugabug test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by OSUblake,

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hi!

I am trying to simulate random size circles with random timing,  dropping from the top of my page and fading out.  It is working but I am sure that there is another more efficient way of doing this.  I want it to expand across the top of the page.  I'm a beginner at jscript and use to use gs flash.  Things have changes alot since i was last doing this and I need to catch up with javascript.  Can anyone show me what to do to make it more efficient?  My code pen page is :

See the Pen jymeJG by barb1643 (@barb1643) on CodePen

Thanks in advance!

Barb

See the Pen jymeJG by barb1643 (@barb1643) on CodePen

• Solution

Hi @schugabug,

One thing you should do is animate x/y instead of left/top. For randomness, I create my animations inside a recursive function, a function that calls itself again. Inside that function, I assign random values using a random function, passing in a min and max value.

Here's a simple demo I set up with a lot of variables you can play around with.

See the Pen 44501102819225c54db46136a2655010?editors=0010 by osublake (@osublake) on CodePen

• Like 3

Hi Barbara :)

We all want our brains to operate like Blake's mind, but it's simply not possible. I guess nobody told you - Blake is an AI created by Jack. He resides in the Matrix and monitors the GreenSock website.  :D

We are truly lucky to have him running around here. He's a talented coder and a really nice guy. I'm glad he found a solution for you.

Happy tweening.

:)

• Like 2

Hi,