Search Community

Best JS library/framework for using with GSAP

pier test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

So a little introduction first. I've been using GSAP probably since 2006 or so when AS3 was introduced. I've done tons of interactive stuff in Flash and Adobe Air.

Of course, AS3 is pretty much dead these days, and HTML5/ES6/CSS3 is the thing now.

A few years back I used jQuery (like pretty much anyone) along GSAP for doing interactive oriented websites. Not so much data oriented web apps. This provided a very flexible coding experience, although ES6 wasn't here yet and it was prone to messy projects.

These days, React, Angular, Vue, etc, are all the rage, but those are focused to develop data driven web apps with data binding magic. But since DOM management is delegated to those libraries / frameworks, I've found that coding sophisticated interactive experiences is a pita. Such types of websites usually require micro DOM management entangled with sequenced animations, etc.

Right now I'm testing a very simple component based system with ES6 classes that combines GSAP and jQuery for DOM manipulation, and see how that goes...

So what is your approach?

What libraries do you use for GSAP heavy projects?

It really depends on the project.

I include jQuery and Lodash for almost every project. When it comes to animations, I dabble with SVG, but it usually doesn't perform well on mobile, so I do all the heavy animation stuff with canvas. When I need performance, I turn to Pixi.js. If I'm working with vectors/SVG, I like Paper.js.