Search Community

stop YOYO on a specific Tween and change colors (MorphSVG)

KarenHuang test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by PointC,

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello,

I am completely new to Javascript and GSAP so my questions might be really stupid...I've played around with it for a few days but have not been able to figure out. 

I created these paths in AI so that the word "DECONSTRUCTED" will morph into lines - which I have been able to do in the codepen URL.

However, I want it to YOYO back and stop when it gets to "c" and then have the "E" and "D" morph to a red (Or whatever color) "E" and a red "R" - so spelling out "RECONSTRUCTED".

Any help would be much appreciated. And I am a Javascript newbie so I really don't understand any of the syntax. Everything I have done is through forking and trial/error.

Thank you. 

See the Pen XKPqWo by Karenhuang (@Karenhuang) on CodePen

Hi KarenHuang :)

Welcome to the GreenSock forums.

I really like Blake's solution for you and it is the most elegant approach. That being said, you mentioned not understanding the syntax so it may be a bit confusing. With that in mind, I made more simplified solution for you. 

I took your two timelines and added them to a master timeline. I added a label to your main timeline that serves as the stopping point on the reverse animation. You can then play the main timeline from start to finish, play it in reverse to the stopping label and then play the last two letters as their own timeline animation. This is more of the manual 'brute force' approach, but may be a bit easier to understand:

See the Pen OXoAKk by PointC (@PointC) on CodePen