Search Community

MorphSVG - change starting point of both shapes?

ohem test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hi, I was just playing with MorphSVG on Codepen.  The findShapeIndex() utility is awesome, but I seem to only be able to change the starting point of one shape, and I can’t figure out how to change the starting point of my second shape (a simple circle).

The circle’s  starting point seems to be stuck on the right side.  Is there a way that I could change it to the top or bottom of the circle, so that both shapes have aligning starting points?

Here is a rough example to illustrate my issue:

Any help is appreciated; this is my first time playing with MorphSVG so I might be missing something very obvious.

Thanks!

See the Pen BKEaMp by ohem (@ohem) on CodePen

Nah, you're not missing anything obvious. Don't worry. Plenty of people have probably wondered something similar.

But as far as I can tell, there's no benefit to offering the ability to move the starting point on the end shape as well because the whole purpose is to simply figure out how to align the points (in order) between the start and end shapes, and doing so only requires shifting the points in ONE of the paths. Think of it like a combination lock where you have to spin a dial to line a particular number up with the top of the outer ring - even if you could move the outer ring independently, you'd still end up with the numbers around the edges aligning in the same way as they'd be if you only moved the inner dial.