Search Community

Animation slow on new iOS devices

eladla test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

Hello all,

I am new to GreenSock and the forum. I must say I am loving it!

We are doing a Cordova mobile app with React. We started using GSAP for all the animations.

This works great in Ripple and also physical Android devices. Even older Android devices, which we were sure were going to be a problem, everything is running super smooth.

The problem is with iOS devices. We have tried iPhone 5S with both iOS 8.x.x and 9.x and also iPhone 6 and 6 Plus and on all of them performance is really bad. Animations are chopping up and stuttering all over the place.

I tried adding the translate3d transform and also adding force3D to the options object and nothing helps.

In the codepen the red div slides down more than one screen length and I know this is a lot of pixels to animate, but what works fine on an S3 I would expect to work better on an iPhone 6.

Any tips for me?

Thanks!

See the Pen qOgOvj by anon (@anon) on CodePen

Hm, I tried it on one of my iOS devices and it ran perfectly smoothly but I'll offer a few tips: