Search Community

I'm trying to apply my toggle click to play/reverse button to an animation...

T.Gregory test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm trying to apply this toggle to an animation sequence from the 3d Preview Demo #3 (shown below). I didn't put it on codepen cuz its only two snippets. 

I'm new to jquery and brand new to GSAP, I get the concepts and can develop my skills easily given I can find reference to the proper syntax per situation. 

But unfortunately, I've found very little useful syntax examples even in the most details docs, the demos on codepen are mostly amusing novelties that almost religiously exclude click events and there is no reference book on "Coding with Greensock"  . . . and that leaves me with no way to learn but trial and error - or asking for help. 

Here is the toggle I used for a previous animation that is triggered by clicking the div id=#left

var t = new TimelineLite({paused:true, reversed:true});

t.to(".infoBar", .5, {ease:Back.SlowMo,top:"30%",});

$("#left").on("click", function() {

if (t.reversed()) {

t.play();

} else {

t.reverse();

}

});

I have tried for hours to apply it to the animation below, but when code requires exactness down to the dot, there seem to be more variations than the Rubik's Cube. 

If someone could show me how they would apply the click event above to the demo animation below - as well as advice on figuring out situational syntax when there are no references or examples - I would greatly appreciate it...

3D Preview Demo #3 :

$(function() {

var box = $(".box");

var wrapper = $(".wrapper");

var tl = new TimelineMax({repeat: 6, yoyo: true, repeatDelay:.5})

tl.set(box, {

css: {

borderRadius: 8,