Search Community

New feature

TRFC test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I am a novice at writing Javascript and I know my coding is terrible. I have been creating a few examples of moving elements around the screen as part of my learning. I just discovered GSAP and marvel at the capability. i have stopped my writing and am now spending time learning how GSAP works -- a long way to go before I create some of those fancy animations.

Anyway, there is one feature jwt_move that I coded and seems to be missing from GSAP.

In the x and y options for the basic moves, in addition to number of px,  I also coded in"left"  "right"   "center"   "top"   "bottom"  "middle" which would move the element to the edge of the viewport.    In addiion, I coded a bounds/nobounds option  and if 'edge' is selected for this option, a move of say 10000px would stop at the edge of the viewport.

In addition, I could move an element to the viewport edge and then offset from that edge by a number of px using 'offsetX. The web site has my example. There is some simple documentation for the options at:-
http://www.trfc.me/jwt_scripts/documentation/jwt_move_description.shtml

The example:

http://www.trfc.me/jwt_scripts/examples/jwt_move_example.shtml

I have not found a way of doing these functions with GSAP.

Please don't criticise my coding -- I know it is terrible -- but what it does is a feature I could not find in GSAP.

Note: if the viewport size is known, maybe scale  could also be limited to the viewport edge as an option.

See the Pen jwt_move_example.shtml by jwt_scripts (@jwt_scripts) on CodePen

thank you for the example code --looking through these types helps me as a starter. I will also check out the links.