Search Community

Basics mouse-event tweening

oneiamfor test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by OSUblake,

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

So i've watched the GSAP intro videos; they're great. I mean they're so good they made me think I'd be able to use this library straight away. However I am new to coding and web design and while GSAP allows me to do things i'd never be able to imagine doing on the web I'm struggling to control the outcomes.

In my codepen I'm trying to use the mouse hover events to initiate a simple tweenmax animation. I want the user to interact the pouring motion by just a mouseover but once the mouse leaves the bounds of the image it would go back to the starting position.

I think my js coding is messy and not the best way to achieve this, and I think the revert or restart() functions might be what I should be doing, but i'm not sure on syntax or design.

TL;DR.

How can I use the timeline feature to revert the tween back to it's starting state upon the jquery mouseleave event?

See the Pen raJKjb by oneiamfor (@oneiamfor) on CodePen

Hi Diaco, thanks for the quick response. Do you know why when I take the mouse off the image div that it doesn't trigger the mouseleave event? The only way I can get the mouseleave event to trigger is when the mouse leaves the whole window? Is this because I am misusing the $(window).on('mouseleave', moveBoxBack); statement? Should I not be using the $(window) function and be using something else that only triggers when on the actual div object? (Sorry if isn't making sense)

• Solution

Hi OneIAmFor,

You have the window responding to your mouse events, which is the entire viewable area. You probably only want the $box to respond your mouse events.