Search Community

Firefox Performance

Peter Trenery test
Moderator Tag

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm new to gsap. Starting to get into the code. The library looks great. When testing my animations, I noticed they looked a little different under firefox. Was using Elastic.easeOut and it was noticeably bouncier at the end under firefox. Was wondering if it's performance related.

I found this greensock speed test page: https://greensock.com/js/speed.html. I selected the GSAP library.

My results were as follows:

Chrome (40.0.2214.111 m): ~90+fps - excellent

IE (11.0.9600.17501): ~55-60fps - also extremely good

FF (35.0.1): ~20-22fps - not so great

My system is Win 7.

I tried multiple times and the results were consistent. I have no idea if it's related to the perceivable differences in the elastic easing but the results for FF were surprisingly poor when compared to the two other browsers. I have pretty much the default settings for FF including hardware acceleration turned on.

For kicks, I tried the same site on my Android phone: ~28-32fps - better than desktop FF.

Do you see similar results with the latest version of FF? Is this a known issue with FF?

Thanks,

Peter

Hi Peter Trenery  :)

seems there's something wrong with FF 35.0.1 !!!!

but pls check other framework fps too !!! this's what i have win 7 + FF 35.0.1 with 300 dots :

jquery : 16 ~ 19.5

GSAP : 34.5 ~ 37.2 ( with chrome 95.2 ~ 98.4  !!! )

mootools: 21.4 ~ 22.7

dojo: 20 ~ 22.4

Tweenjs : 28.4 ~ 30

zepto : 22.8 ~ 23.4

• Like 2

Hello pixeldroid, Chrome / Safari (webkit) actually has more documented bugs then Firefox does :)