Search Community

Animate CSS Properties with GSAP

Lynx test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Rodrigo,

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I'm new to GSAP and well, anything identical to this I want to create animations on my pages.  I have TweenMax loaded via CDN along with the CSSPlugin. Is this not the correct way to animate CSS properties I don't see my class animate to the left as a starting point ?

<script>TweenLite.to(".proxylogo", 12, {left:"100px"})</script>

What if you animate a CSS feature that IE 7 or IE 8 or a mobile phone browser doesn't understand, is there a fall back option with GSAP ?

Hi and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

Your script looks OK to me. Perhaps you could wrap it in jquery's ready() method in order to wait for the document's element are in place and, if you added reference to your styles in the head section, all css properties have been read and parsed to the DOM elements, like this:

$(document).ready(function(){

TweenLite.to(".proxylogo", 12, {left:"100px"});

});

Now if for some reason you need some specific dimensions of an image, those will not be completely rendered when the DOM is ready, in that case you can use jquery's load() method or javascript's onload:

// waits for every asset in the page to be completely loaded
$(window).load(function(){

});

// this code works in the same way as the one above, just no dependencies
window.onload = function(){

};