Search Community

What is the best method for scrolling text horizontally across a div

hackfin test
Moderator Tag

Go to solution Solved by Chrysto,

Warning: Please note

This thread was started before GSAP 3 was released. Some information, especially the syntax, may be out of date for GSAP 3. Please see the GSAP 3 migration guide and release notes for more information about how to update the code to GSAP 3's syntax. 

I am trying to replace a jQuery plugin called "li-scroller" which combines the <li> tags from an unstructured list and scrolls the items inside a div one after another from left to right indefinately.  Unfortunately the plugin distorts the letters slightly as the speed increases and I was hoping that Greensock would produce a more fluid result.

Since I am new to Greensock, I am not sure which approach to take to accomplish this.  Is Split Text necessary or would a method using Split Text produce smoother results than the alternative?  Any guidance or examples to help get me started is appreciated.  When I get something to work, I will post it to CodePen.  Below is a list of some of the features I am trying to incorporate:

1. Start at right of div, fade in letters and scroll from left to right.
  2. At left of div, letters fade out of display.
  3. First list item starts right after last list item without break in list.  List repeats indefinately.
  4. Mouseover list causes the list scroll to pause.

Seems simple enough but I have no clue how to tackle this.

Thanks,

James

Hi and welcome to the GreenSock forums.

Can you please provide a link to an example that uses the jQuery plugin you are trying to replicate? I did a quick google search, got lots of results, and couldn't find an example that works exactly like you describe.