Search Community

How to use TimelineLite on nested symbols and in conjunction with buttons?

pocketrockets test
Moderator Tag

Hi everyone!

So I asked a question similar to this one before, but I think it was too broad so this is my attempt to clarify. I'm using Adobe Animate CC for a college project where I'm creating an "Interactive Comic."  I'm very new to all this stuff and I've been confused about a lot of things. 

So I have several different scenes in this project. Each scene is a movie clip Symbol with several other movie clips that play in a certain order once the scene is initiated. To put it simply, the general idea is the user will click a button on the to make the scene play, and then click the "next" button to switch to the next page. There might be some additional buttons within each scene, but I'll work on that later.

I'm assuming that most developers don't use Fla files anymore because it's been IMPOSSIBLE to find examples of how to do this on the internet, even though it seems like a pretty basic idea. So when I found TimelineLite I was hoping it could help me out because timing all these events manually with keyframes has been really challenging.

So my question is how can I use TimelineLite to create an outer timeline that is controlled by buttons, which inner timelines that have events playing one after another? Can anyone give me an example of how to do this? The only examples I've seen of TimelineLite so far are with simple symbols and I'm wondering what changes when there are nested symbols and timelines.  Also, does the fact that I'm using Actionscript instead of JS mean I can't use the code for TimelineLite that I've seen in examples?

As always, any help is tremendously appreciated. Thanks! :)